Hinanakit ni Aklat: a filler

If this post gets published, chances are I didn’t have enough time, or creative juices, to write anything. Still, I’m sure this is considered an entry for our August 31st cutoff, right, co-challengers? 😛

Because we are celebrating Buwan ng Wika at school tomorrow, and because I take care of my books so well that I see red whenever I find gruesome and highly distorted books left for moths and roaches to feed on, I might as well share, with a little tweaking, the only Filipino poem I have written, mainly as filler for The Green Board’s Filipino section. Now that’s recycling!

HINANAKIT NI AKLAT

Heto akong si Aklat,
Makulay ang pabalat,
Lalo na tuwing Hunyo
At ako’y bagong bago.

Sa oras na kailangan,
Malaya kang ako’y buksan.
Bawat salita ko’t titik,
Sa kaalaman ay hitik.

Kung may pagsusulit,
Anu pa’t di nawawaglit
Sa isip na ako’y dalhin
At dali-daling basahin.

Maging sa pagkakahimbing,
Naranasan kong ako’y yakapin,
Sa pag-asang maipapasa
Ng aklat na binabasa.

Bawat oras na pinagsamahan,
Handog sa ‘yo’y karunungan.
Walang saysay na sayangin,
Aking hangarin ay supilin.

Sa pagtatapos ng taon,
Ako nama’y huwag itapon.
Hindi mo man ako gamitin,
Ako’y mahalaga pa rin.

If I were a book and was left to die (as if it’s possible), I’d shred myself into pieces, ask help from bookworms around the city and have them force my owner to make me whole again.

Yep, I would do that.


Got something to say?